1st term of being a post graduate

So starting my EngD has been a bit of a whirlwind. Can’t believe it’s Christmas already! In between short courses and coursework weeks in Guildford and starting work at my sponsor company NPL it’s been busy. Still having lectures has been a brilliant way to transition from undergrad to doctoral student and has helped increase my knowledge around my topic area. It’s also safe to say that although I’ve wanted to get stuck into research and my project work, it’s not a fast process. There are also so many hours that can be spent reading literature! Break this up in short bursts otherwise concentration goes out of the window!!

This blog and the 23 Things course has helped to maintain a plan and introduction to what I need to be doing to try and stay on track. Communication with supervisors has also been key! There’s a wealth of information out there so the important thing is just being able to access it. The best way to describe myself this term has been like a sponge. I’ve just been trying to absorb everything and learn as much as possible so that I can achieve the most from the next four years of my project.

Maintaining a balance between University, project work and personal life has also been really important! It’s easy to get lost in a new place with a new team and a new work/research life. I’ve tried to get stuck into life in Surrey by involving myself with the CDT and talks/ conferences available, as well as joining the university boat club. There are times when I miss home in Cornwall though.

Looking forward to getting back on it and really getting into my project in the new year.

Leave a Reply

